Have a question? Need an appointment?

Get in touch!
Name E-mail Message Submit

Your Housing Authority Staff

  • Nehemias Velez, Executive Director - nvelez@stauntonrha.org 
  • Audra Hutchens, Housing Choice Voucher - ahutchens@stauntonrha.org
  • Connie Piller, Multifamily - cpiller@stauntonrha.org
  • Lance Allen, Accounting - lallen@stauntonrha.org
  • Mark Allen, Inspector/Maintenance - mallen@stauntonrha.org
  • Alora Howard, Occupancy Specialist - ahoward@stauntonrha.org

Board of Commissioners

The Authority is governed by a Board of Commissioners (the “Board”), in which all the powers of the Authority are vested (Code § 36-12). Commissioners are appointed by the Staunton City Council. The Board appoints the Executive Director.

Every 3rd Tuesday of the month at 12 p.m., SRHA holds our monthly board meeting.  The meetings are held at the maintenance office building at 100 Elizabeth Miller Gardens in Staunton, Virginia.  These meetings are open to the public, unless or until the meetings are held in closed session.  

If you would like to attend a monthly board meeting virtually or if you have any questions about the board meetings, please contact our Executive Director, Nehemias Velez, at nvelez@stauntonrha.org, or via phone at 540-886-3413.

Our current board members and their terms are listed below.

  • Nicholas Hurston:  Mar 1, 2024 - Feb 28, 202

  • Chris Okay:  Nov 1, 2021 - Oct 31, 2025

  • Jonathan Mason:  Nov 1, 2021 - Oct 31, 2025

  • David Rissmeyer:   Feb 1, 2022 - Jan 31, 2026

  • Tracy Toye:   Mar 1, 2022 - Feb 28, 2026